Setoff File Status

Next setoff file - Tuesday, November 20, 2018 (#20 of 21 for 2018)

Previous setoff files for 2018/date available to local governments:

#19 - Tuesday, November 9, 2018 (#19 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, November 10, 2018

#18 - Tuesday, October 23, 2018 (#18 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, October 23, 2018

#17 - Tuesday, October 9, 2018 (#17 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, October 9, 2018

#16 - Tuesday, September 18, 2018 (#16 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, September 18, 2018

#15 - Tuesday, September 4, 2018 (#15 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, September 4, 2018

#14 - Tuesday, August 21, 2018 (#14 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, August 21, 2018

#13 - Tuesday, August 7, 2018 (#13 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, August 7, 2018

#12 - Tuesday, July 24, 2018 (#12 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, July 24, 2018

#11 - Tuesday, July 10, 2018 (#11 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, July 11, 2018

#10 - Tuesday, June 19, 2018 (#10 of 21 for 2018)/Tuesday, June 19, 2018

#9 - Tuesday, June 5, 2018 (#9 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, June 6, 2018

#8 - Tuesday, May 15, 2018 (#8 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, May 16, 2018

#7 - Tuesday, May 1, 2018 (#7 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, May 2, 2018

#6 - Tuesday, April 17, 2018 (#6 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, April 18, 2018

#5 - Tuesday, April 3, 2018 (#5 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, April 4, 2018

#4 - Tuesday, March 20, 2018 (#4 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, March 21, 2018

#3 - Tuesday, March 6, 2018 (#3 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, March 7, 2018

#2 - Tuesday, February 20, 2018 (#2 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, February 21, 2018

#1 - Tuesday, February 6, 2018 (#1 of 21 for 2018)/Wednesday, February 7, 2018





setoff file guidelines

January:

February through December:

Step Setoff Step Status Date(s) Estimated Completion Date (If not ON SCHEDULE) or SPECIAL COMMENT
1 1a) The NC Department of Revenue processes tax refunds against debtors from the Clearinghouse database.       

1b) The NC Education Lottery reviews all winners of over $600 against the Clearinghouse database

COMPLETED Monday, November 5 through Sunday, November 18  
2 The NC Department of Revenue mails the "Notice of Individual Income Tax Adjustment" letters to the debtors that were setoff.   This letter references the Clearinghouse toll-free Interactive Voice Response (IVR) telephone number (877) 843-0330.

COMPLETED  Tuesday, November 6 through Monday, November 19  
3 Debtors setoff receive the mailing notices and call the Clearinghouse (IVR) to inquire on all local governmental entities who submitted a claim against their tax refund

IN PROGRESS Wednesday, November 8 through Wednesday, November 21  
4 Participating local governmental entities submit electronic data files to the Clearinghouse via the client software or ASCII/Excel files

COMPLETED Monday, October 29 through Friday (5:00 p.m.) November 9  
5 The Clearinghouse processes all local governmental entity data creating an updated database from data sent by Friday 5:00 p.m.

COMPLETED Friday through Monday: November 3 - 5 and 10 - 12  
6 The Clearinghouse transmits a replacement database to North Carolina Department of Revenue who forwards a copy to the NC Education Lottery. Only debts $50.00 or more that have passed their Compliance Date and have not passed the Expiration Date are sent

COMPLETED Tuesdays, November 6 and 13  
7 7a) The NC Department of Revenue provides an electronic tax refund setoff file for the Clearinghouse

7b) The NC Education Lottery transmits an electronic lottery setoff file to the Clearinghouse

COMPLETED Tuesday, November 20  
8 The Clearinghouse reconciles information from the NC Department of Revenue and NC Education Lottery, using the electronic data files from each

COMPLETED Tuesday, November 206  
9 9a) The NC Department of Revenue electronically transfers all tax refund setoff funds to N.C. Capital Management

9b) The NC Education Lottery electronically transfers all lottery setoff funds to NC Capital Management

ON SCHEDULE Friday, November 23
10 Capital Management Trust will complete the deposit to the local governments

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, November 27  
11 The Clearinghouse updates the master database to reflect all setoffs received in the electronic file from the NC Department of Revenue and NC Education Lottery

COMPLETED Tuesday, November 20  
12 The Clearinghouse emails a report to NC Capital Management providing the associated Capital Management account numbers and deposit amounts for each local governmental entity that received funds. Additionally,  the Clearinghouse faxes a copy of the above report to the NC League of Municipalities and the Association of County Commissioners

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, November 20  
13 The Clearinghouse transfers the setoff data files (including Excel file of all setoffs) to the secure folder for each local governmental entity in the file

COMPLETED Tuesday, November 20

 

14 The Clearinghouse transmits electronic mail notifications and instructions to each local governmental entity that various files are available for download. Note: in order to reduce our chances as being marked as spam, we send 85 emails per hour so it may take the entire day to send all. IN PROGRESS

Tuesday, November 20  
15 Local governmental entities proceed with the downloads from their secure folders, using either the Web Browser or the Client software and processes the setoff results

IN PROGRESS Tuesday, November 20 UNTIL COMPLETION  
16 The Clearinghouse updates the Statistics information on the website

ON SCHEDULE Monday, November 26 - 5:00 P.M.

Last Status Update

  Tuesday, November 20 - 11:02 A.M.

Notes:

Step 1: Department of Revenue processes refunds that were received for this time period.

Step 2: Department of Revenue mails a letter informing the debtor they were setoff.

Step 3: Interactive Voice Response system (IVR) process:

Step 11: The Clearinghouse updates the master database:

  • Debt Amounts updated to reflect the tax refunds and lottery setoff(s)

  • Indicators set to ensure that setoff rules enforced: only one transaction fee ($15) per Social Security Number per debt, per local governmental entity, per Tax Year

Step 11: The Clearinghouse faxes a report to N.C. Capital Management:

  • The funds are normally available on the following Tuesday

  • If there are questions or issues involving the access of these funds please call N. C. Capital Management Trust at (800) 222-3232