Setoff File Status

Next setoff file - Tuesday, August 22, 2017 (#14 of 21 for 2017)

Previous setoff files for 2017/date available to local governments:

#13 - Tuesday, July 25, 2017 (#13 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, August 8, 2017

#12 - Tuesday, July 25, 2017 (#12 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, July 26, 2017

#11 - Tuesday, July 11, 2017 (#11 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, July 12, 2017

#10 - Tuesday, June 20, 2017 (#10 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, June 21, 2017

#9 - Tuesday, June 6, 2017 (#9 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, June 7, 2017

#8 - Tuesday, May 16, 2017 (#8 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, May 17, 2017

#7 - Tuesday, May 2, 2017 (#7 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, May 3, 2017

#6 - Tuesday, April 18, 2017 (#6 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, April 19, 2017

#5 - Tuesday, April 4, 2017 (#5 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, April 5, 2017

#4 - Tuesday, March 21, 2017 (#4 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, March 22, 2017

#3 - Tuesday, March 7, 2017 (#3 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, March 8, 2017

#2 - Tuesday, February 21 2017 (#2 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, February 22, 2017

#1 - Tuesday, February 7, 2017 (#1 of 21 for 2017)/Wednesday, February 8, 2017



setoff file guidelines

January:

February through December:

Step Setoff Step Status Date(s) Estimated Completion Date (If not ON SCHEDULE) or SPECIAL COMMENT
1 1a) The NC Department of Revenue processes tax refunds against debtors from the Clearinghouse database.       

1b) The NC Education Lottery reviews all winners of over $600 against the Clearinghouse database

IN PROGRESS Monday, August 7, 2017 through Sunday, August 20, 2017  
2 The NC Department of Revenue mails the "Notice of Individual Income Tax Adjustment" letters to the debtors that were setoff.   This letter references the Clearinghouse toll-free Interactive Voice Response (IVR) telephone number (877) 843-0330.

IN PROGRESS  Tuesday, August 8 through Monday, August 21, 2017  
3 Debtors setoff receive the mailing notices and call the Clearinghouse (IVR) to inquire on all local governmental entities who submitted a claim against their tax refund

IN PROGRESS Wednesday, August 9 through Wednesday, August 23, 2017  
4 Participating local governmental entities submit electronic data files to the Clearinghouse via the client software or ASCII/Excel files

COMPLETED Monday, July 31 through Friday (5:00 p.m.) August 11, 2017  
5 The Clearinghouse processes all local governmental entity data creating an updated database from data sent by Friday 5:00 p.m.

COMPLETED Saturday through Monday: August 5 - 7, 12 - 14, 2017  
6 The Clearinghouse transmits a replacement database to North Carolina Department of Revenue who forwards a copy to the NC Education Lottery. Only debts $50.00 or more that have passed their Compliance Date and have not passed the Expiration Date are sent

COMPLETED Tuesdays, August 8 and 15, 2017  
7 7a) The NC Department of Revenue provides an electronic tax refund setoff file for the Clearinghouse

7b) The NC Education Lottery transmits an electronic lottery setoff file to the Clearinghouse

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, August 22, 2017  
8 The Clearinghouse reconciles information from the NC Department of Revenue and NC Education Lottery, using the electronic data files from each

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, August 22 through Wednesday, August 23, 2017  
9 9a) The NC Department of Revenue electronically transfers all tax refund setoff funds to N.C. Capital Management

9b) The NC Education Lottery electronically transfers all lottery setoff funds to NC Capital Management

ON SCHEDULE Friday, August 25, 2017
10 Capital Management Trust will complete the deposit to the local governments

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, August 29, 2017  
11 The Clearinghouse updates the master database to reflect all setoffs received in the electronic file from the NC Department of Revenue and NC Education Lottery

ON SCHEDULE Wednesday, August 23, 2017  
12 The Clearinghouse faxes a report to NC Capital Management providing the associated Capital Management account numbers and deposit amounts for each local governmental entity that received funds. Additionally,  the Clearinghouse faxes a copy of the above report to the NC League of Municipalities and the Association of County Commissioners

ON SCHEDULE Wednesday, August 23, 2017  
13 The Clearinghouse transfers the setoff data files (including Excel file of all setoffs) to the secure folder for each local governmental entity in the file

ON SCHEDULE Wednesday, August 23, 2017

 

14 The Clearinghouse transmits electronic mail notifications and instructions to each local governmental entity that various files are available for download. Note: in order to reduce our chances as being marked as spam, we send 85 emails per hour so it may take the entire day to send all. ON SCHEDULE

Wednesday, August 23, 2017  
15 Local governmental entities proceed with the downloads from their secure folders, using either the Web Browser or the Client software and processes the setoff results

ON SCHEDULE Wednesday, August 23, 2017 UNTIL COMPLETION  
16 The Clearinghouse updates the Statistics information on the website

ON SCHEDULE Monday, August 28, 2017 - 5:00 P.M.

Last Status Update

  Friday, August 25, 2017 - 2:04 P.M.

Notes:

Step 1: Department of Revenue processes refunds that were received for this time period.

Step 2: Department of Revenue mails a letter informing the debtor they were setoff.

Step 3: Interactive Voice Response system (IVR) process:

Step 11: The Clearinghouse updates the master database:

  • Debt Amounts updated to reflect the tax refunds and lottery setoff(s)

  • Indicators set to ensure that setoff rules enforced: only one transaction fee ($15) per Social Security Number per debt, per local governmental entity, per Tax Year

Step 11: The Clearinghouse faxes a report to N.C. Capital Management:

  • The funds are normally available on the following Tuesday

  • If there are questions or issues involving the access of these funds please call N. C. Capital Management Trust at (800) 222-3232