Setoff File Status

Next setoff file - Tuesday, June 18, 2024 (#10 of 23 for 2024)

Complete Setoff Schedule for 2024 - set by NC Dept. of Revenue:

#1 - Tuesday, February 6, 2024 (#1 of 23 for 2024)

#2 - Tuesday, February 20, 2024 (#2 of 23 for 2024)

#3 - Tuesday, March 5, 2024 (#3 of 23 for 2024)

#4 - Tuesday, March 19, 2024 (#4 of 23 for 2024)

#5 - Tuesday, April 2, 2024 (#5 of 23 for 2024)

#6 - Tuesday, April 16, 2024 (#6 of 23 for 2024)

#7 - Tuesday, May 7, 2024 (#7 of 23 for 2024)

#8 - Tuesday, May 21, 2024 (#8 of 23 for 2024)

#9 - Tuesday, June 4, 2024 (#9 of 23 for 2024)

#10 - Tuesday, June 18, 2024 (#10 of 23 for 2024)

#11 - Tuesday, July 2, 2024 (#11 of 23 for 2024)

#12 - Tuesday, July 16, 2024 (#12 of 23 for 2024)

#13 - Tuesday, July 30, 2024 (#13 of 23 for 2024)

#14 - Tuesday, August 13, 2024 (#14 of 23 for 2024)

#15 - Tuesday, August 27, 2024 (#15 of 23 for 2024)

#16 - Tuesday, September 10, 2024 (#16 of 23 for 2024)

#17 - Tuesday, September 24, 2024 (#17 of 23 for 2024)

#18 - Tuesday, October 8, 2024 (#18 of 23 for 2024)

#19 - Tuesday, October 22, 2024 (#19 of 23 for 2024)

#20 - Tuesday, November 5, 2024 (#20 of 23 for 2024)

#21 - Tuesday, November 19, 2024 (#21 of 23 for 2024)

#22 - Tuesday, December 3, 2024 (#22 of 23 for 2024)

#23 - Tuesday, December 17, 2024 (#23 of 23 for 2024)



setoff file guidelines

January:

February through December:

Step Setoff Step Status Date(s) Estimated Completion Date (If not ON SCHEDULE) or SPECIAL COMMENT
1 1a) The NC Department of Revenue processes tax refunds against debtors from the Clearinghouse database.       

1b) The NC Education Lottery reviews all winners of over $600 against the Clearinghouse database

IN PROGRESS Monday, June 3 through Sunday, June 16  
2 The NC Department of Revenue mails the "Notice of Individual Income Tax Adjustment" letters to the debtors that were setoff.   This letter references the Clearinghouse toll-free Interactive Voice Response (IVR) telephone number (877) 843-0330.

IN PROGRESS  Tuesday, June 4 through Monday, June 17  
3 Debtors setoff receive the mailing notices and call the Clearinghouse (IVR) to inquire on all local governmental entities who submitted a claim against their tax refund

IN PROGRESS Wednesday, June 5 through Wednesday, June 19  
4 Participating local governmental entities submit electronic data files to the Clearinghouse via the client software or ASCII/Excel files

COMPLETED Monday, May 27 through Friday, June 7 (5:00 p.m.)  
5 The Clearinghouse processes all local governmental entity data creating an updated database from data sent by Friday 5:00 p.m.

COMPLETED Friday through Monday: May 31 - June 3 and June 7 - 10  
6 The Clearinghouse transmits a replacement database to North Carolina Department of Revenue who forwards a copy to the NC Education Lottery. Only debts $50.00 or more that have passed their Compliance Date and have not passed the Expiration Date are sent

COMPLETED Tuesdays, June 4 and 11  
7 7a) The NC Department of Revenue provides an electronic tax refund setoff file for the Clearinghouse

7b) The NC Education Lottery transmits an electronic lottery setoff file to the Clearinghouse

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, June 18
8 The Clearinghouse reconciles information from the NC Department of Revenue and NC Education Lottery, using the electronic data files from each

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, June 18  
9 9a) The NC Department of Revenue electronically transfers all tax refund setoff funds to N.C. Capital Management

9b) The NC Education Lottery electronically transfers all lottery setoff funds to NC Capital Management

ON SCHEDULE Friday, June 21
10 Capital Management Trust will complete the deposit to the local governments

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, June 25
11 The Clearinghouse updates the master database to reflect all setoffs received in the electronic file from the NC Department of Revenue and NC Education Lottery

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, June 18  
12 The Clearinghouse provides a secure report to NC Capital Management providing the associated Capital Management account numbers and deposit amounts for each local governmental entity that received funds. Additionally,  the Clearinghouse provides copies of the above report to the NC League of Municipalities and the Association of County Commissioners

ON SCHEDULE Wednesday, June 19  
13 The Clearinghouse transfers the setoff data files (including Excel file of all setoffs) to the secure folder for each local governmental entity in the file

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, June 18

 

14 The Clearinghouse transmits electronic mail notifications and instructions to each local governmental entity that various files are available for download. Note: in order to reduce our chances as being marked as spam, we send 10 emails per minute so it may take several hours to send all. ON SCHEDULE

Tuesday, June 18  
15 Local governmental entities proceed with the downloads from their secure folders, using either the Web Browser or the Client software and processes the setoff results

ON SCHEDULE Tuesday, June 18 UNTIL COMPLETION  
16 The Clearinghouse updates the Statistics information on the website

ON SCHEDULE Friday, June 21
17

Last Status Update

  Thursday, June 11 - 12:05 p.m.

Notes:

Step 1: Department of Revenue processes refunds that were received for this time period.

Step 2: Department of Revenue mails a letter informing the debtor they were setoff.

Step 3: Interactive Voice Response system (IVR) process:

Step 11: The Clearinghouse updates the master database:

  • Debt Amounts updated to reflect the tax refunds and lottery setoff(s)

  • Indicators set to ensure that setoff rules enforced: only one transaction fee ($15) per Social Security Number per debt, per local governmental entity, per Tax Year

Step 11: The Clearinghouse faxes a report to N.C. Capital Management:

  • The funds are normally available on the following Tuesday

  • If there are questions or issues involving the access of these funds please call N. C. Capital Management Trust at (800) 222-3232